Barcelona club wins La Liga title

Ns News Online DeskNs News Online Desk: Barcelona won this season’s Spanish La Liga title after beating Deportivo La Coruna, 4-2, late Sunday.

Barcelona bagged the league title with three matches to spare. In total, the club has won the La Liga title 25 times. It won the away game against Deportivo starting with Brazilian winger Philippe Coutinho opening score in the seventh minute.

Lionel Messi put the ball into Deportivo’s net three times at Riazor Stadium. The goals of Deportivo’s Spanish forward Lucas Perez and Turkish midfielder Emre Colak were not enough to equalize.

Barcelona raised its points to 86 in the league table and is guaranteed to win the title since Atletico Madrid, who are in the second spot, have 75 points. “Congratulations, Barca fans! We won the double! The seventh Liga title in ten years. A new trophy to continue completing an extraordinary era of sporting success. Something only the legendary teams can do”, Barcelona President Josep Maria Bartomeu said on Twitter.

Meanwhile, Deportivo La Coruna with 28 points in the league was relegated to a lower division. They are in the 18th place in standings. “Fair play to Deportivo for a great game. We hope to see you back in La Liga soon”, Barcelona said on Twitter.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button