CondolenceDevelopmentHealthVirus ProtectionWorld

US-NYC reports zero coronavirus deaths for first time since March

Ns News Online Desk:Ns News Online Desk: New York City recorded zero coronavirus deaths on Monday in what would be the first day without deaths in the city since the pandemic began to ravage the city in March, according to state health data.

Two coronavirus deaths were reported in New York state on Monday in Suffolk and Albany counties — in additional to 855 new confirmed cases statewide, Cuomo’s office announced Tuesday.

It remains to be seen if Monday’s death data will hold true, however.

City health officials were quick to announce that Saturday, July 11, was the first day the city had recorded no new coronavirus deaths since the pandemic began — only to revise that preliminary data days later to show that, in fact, 13 New Yorkers had died that day from COVID-19.

“The mayor was very clear that the information was preliminary and subject to change,” a City Hall spokesperson told NPR on Monday.

The first known coronavirus deaths were recorded on March 14, when two people died in the city, according to city data.

Since July 11 the city has reported between four and 17 deaths each day. On Sunday, three people died in the city from the virus, with two fatalities in Queens and a third in Brooklyn, according to initial state data, which is more up to date that the city’s figures.

The good news came as Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced he has yanked the liquor licenses from three city establishments found to have been repeatedly failing to enforce social distancing rules.

“The state is taking action,” Cuomo told reporters about the State Liquor Authority crackdown during a conference call, adding, “I’m sorry it’s come to this, but it’s a dangerous situation and I’ve said it many, many times.”

Cuomo also announced Tuesday that New York, New Jersey and Connecticut have added 10 additional states to its list from which travelers will have to quarantine for 14 days. The newly-added states include Alaska, Delaware, Indiana, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, Virginia and Washington. Minnesota has been removed from the list.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button